The 2022 Clemson Calculus Challenge

The eighteenth annual Clemson Calculus Challenge (CCC ) was held on Friday, April 22, 2022. For the first time in the history of the competition, we held a hybrid event with in-person participants as well as students taking the exam remotely. The School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences welcomed 174 students from 21 schools representing Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Illinois, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. The students competed in individual, team, and school categories.

The forty-one high schools were split into three divisions based on school enrollment. The division numbers increased with school enrollment; thus Division I schools had the smallest enrollments, while Division II contained the schools with the largest student populations. The high schools that competed in the 2022 CCC  are listed in the following table.

Participating Schools for 2022
High School City State Division
Academic Magnet High School North Charleston SC Division 1
A.C. Flora High School Columbia SC Division 2
Adlai E. Stevenson High School Lincolnshire IL Division 2
Anderson High School Anderson IN Division 2
Augusta Christian Schools Augusta GA Division 1
Chestatee High School Gainesville GA Division 1
Eastside High School Taylors SC Division 2
Fulton Science Academy Alpharetta GA Division 1
Hammond School Columbia SC Division 1
Irmo High School Lexington SC Division 1
Lakeview Academy Gainesville GA Division 1
North Oconee High School Bogart GA Division 2
Riverside High School Greer SC Division 2
Riverwood International Charter School Sandy Springs GA Division 2
Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology Conyers GA Division 1
Sevier County High School Sevierville TN Division 1
South Mecklenburg High School Charlotte NC Division 2
Spartanburg Day School Spartanburg SC Division 1
Spring Valley High School Columbia SC Division 2
Vestavia Hills High School Vestavia Hills AL Division 2
Wilson High School Florence SC Division 1

A presentation was delivered by Dr. Mark Cawood, a Professor in the School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences at Clemson University. His presentation detailed all the possibilities available after obtaining a degree in mathematics.


Trophies were awarded in each division for first, second, and third place finishes in three categories: individual test, team competition, and overall school performance. The first and second place scorer on the morning exam in each division were each given $500 scholarships to Clemson University.

Individual Awards

Division I
Place Winner School
First Seohyun Yu Fulton Science Academy
Second Leigh Detalo Wilson High School
Third Ayan Guha Wilson High School

Division II
Place Winner School
First Atharva Shah Eastside High School
Second Ethan Zhang Adlai E. Stevenson High School
Third Frank Qiang Vestavia Hills High School

Team Awards

Division I
Place Winner School
First FSA Math Team A Fulton Science Academy
Second Spartanburg Day Team One Spartanburg Day School
Third Hammond School B Hammand School

Division II
Place Winner School
First North Oconee A North Oconee High School
Second It's Bo' Time! Spring Valley High School
Third Vestavia Team 2 Vestavia Hills High School

School Awards

Division I
Place School
First Fulton Science Academy
Second Sevier County High School
Third Hammond School

Division II
Place School
First North Oconee High School
Second Vestavia Hills High School
Third Spring Valley High School

Most Creative Team Names

Winners of Most Create Team Name Award
Division Team Name School
I Learn to Derive Lakeview Academy
II 2nd Fundamental Team of Calculus Anderson High School